top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaci M. | Lovely Baking Co.

Oatmeal Crumb Bars

Updated: May 4, 2023

Oats are something I simply adore... I’m not even slightly exaggerating when I say that I have oatmeal for breakfast every single morning! I just find them to be so satisfying - especially in baked goods where they have the ability to add the perfect chewy or crunchy texture to a recipe!

These oatmeal crumb bars were inspired by a breakfast bar I‘ve often enjoyed from a local coffee shop. I‘m not one to regularly visit cafes, so I decided I needed to create my own breakfast bar I could enjoy anytime I liked. To my surprise, I was able to come up with this similar recipe that I actually like so much better than the original I was trying to replicate! Yippee!

These oatmeal crumb bars are simple to make, super delicious and require ingredients you probably already have on hand! They’re thick, crumbly and can be eaten for breakfast, snack or dessert!


 

Oatmeal Crumb Bars

by Maci M. | Lovely Baking Co.

Prep time: 10 mins

Bake time: 28 mins

Cool time: 45 mins


Ingredients:

3 ½ cups old fashioned oats

2 cups flour

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1 Tbsp cinnamon

½ tsp sea salt

1 cup butter, melted

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 cup jam / fruit spread

*3/4 cup Nutella (optional, see bottom of recipe for Nutella recipe variation)


Step 1:

Line an 8x8” baking pan with parchment paper, set aside. Preheat oven to 350* F.


Step 2:

In a large bowl combine oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and sea salt; mix well.


Step 3:

Melt butter in a microwave safe container. Add melted butter and vanilla extract to dry ingredients, mixing well until it comes together in clumps.


Step 4:

Evenly press 2/3 of the crumb mixture firmly into the bottom of the parchment lined baking pan. (You want to make sure this layer is very compact - I like to use the back of a flat measuring cup to help press it down firmly and evenly.) Next, add the jam to the top of the compact crumb layer and spread out evenly. Sprinkle the remaining crumb mixture evenly over the jam layer and gently press into the jam with your fingers.


Step 5:

Bake for 23-28 minutes until the top is golden brown or you see jam bubbling out of the edges. Let cool for about 45 mins and once cooled, cut into squares. (For easier cutting with less crumbles, let the bars sit overnight in the fridge before cutting.) Can be kept in an airtight container at room temperature or in the fridge.

*For Nutella Jam Crumb Bars:

In Step 4 you will add 1/2 cup Nutella and spread out evenly over the top of the bottom crumb layer, then add the jam. Add 1/4 cup of slightly melted Nutella to the remaining 1/3 crumb mixture and mix together well before adding it to the top of the jam layer. The addition of Nutella tastes great when paired with raspberry or strawberry jam filling!

 

For more baking inspiration follow me on Instagram @lovely_baking_co


Did you make this recipe? Share a pic on Instagram & tag me so I can enjoy it with you!

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page